About Us

About the division

The Ground Water Division was established in 1978 by members of the groundwater community of South Africa and the Directorate of Geohydrology, Department of Water Affairs. Essentially a non-profit association, it is committed to upholding and promoting professionalism in the field of groundwater among its membership.

Read more

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Division consists of a Chairman, a Vice Chairman, an Honorary Secretary, an Honorary Treasurer and two (2) additional members. The Chairman of the Executive Committee or an alternate member of the Committee represents the Division on the Council of the Geological Society of South Africa.

Read more


The Ground Water Division has a total of four branches in South Africa. The National Branch (Gauteng), Western Cape Branch, Central Branch (Bloemfontein) and the Eastern Cape Branch.

Read more

In Association with: